The Two Babylons 

Alexander Hislop

Americanized Language Version



 Chapter I

Distinctive Character of the Two Systems

Chapter II
Objects of Worship

Section I. Trinity in Unity

Section II. The Mother and Child, and the Original of the Child

Sub-Section I. The Child in Assyria

Sub-Section II. The Child in Egypt

Sub-Section III. The Child in Greece

Sub-Seciton IV. The Death of the Child

Sub-Section V. The Deification of the Child

Section III. The Mother of the Child

Chapter III

Section I. Christmas and Lady-day

Section II. Easter

Section III. The Nativity of St. John

Section IV. The Feast of the Assumption (11k)

See Chapter V, Section IV regarding Cupid (St. Valentine's Day)

Chapter IV
Doctrine and Discipline

Section I. Baptismal Regeneration

Section II. Justification by Works

Section III. The Sacrifice of the Mass

Section IV. Extreme Unction

Section V. Purgatory and Prayers for the Dead

Chapter V
Rites and Ceremonies

Section I. Idol Procession

Section II. Relic Worship

Section III. The Clothing and Crowning of Images

Section IV. The Rosary and the Worship of the Sacred Heart

Section V. Lamps and Wax-Candles

Section VI. The Sign of the Cross

Chapter VI
Religious Orders

Section I. The Sovereign Pontiff

Section II. Priests, Monks, and Nuns

Chapter VII
The Two Developments Historically and Prophetically Considered

Section I. The Great Red Dragon

Section II. The Beast from the Sea

Section III. The Beast from the Earth

Section IV. The Image of the Beast

Section V. The Name of the Beast,
the Number of His Name
the Invisible Head of the Papacy


If you arrived here from a search engine or an external link

Click on the
to access the Home Page


Simply "Close" This Page To Return To The Previous Page